Health Facts & Tips

Oats is Safe for Celiac Disease Patients

In adults and children who suffer from celiac disease generally cannot consume gluten. Why? Celiac disease is a medical condition characterized by damage to the small intestine which results in an inability to digest certain nutrients. This damage is caused by a reaction to the consumption of gluten, which is found in flour, barley, rye, and other types of wheat.

When people with celiac disease consume foods that contain gluten, villi (small tissue) in the intestine can be damaged and cause inflammation in the lining of the intestine. This makes the intestines unable to absorb nutrients in food properly. As a result, you can experience a lack of important nutrients your body needs. In children, this can certainly interfere with their growth and development.

Oats is Safe for Celiac Disease Patients

What about consuming oats? Research shows that they can consume oats even though they contain little gluten. So, oats can be a good alternative for celiac sufferers. Oats can be eaten on a variety of menu types such as muesli, overnight oat, oat milk, oat bar, oat pancakes, and granola. Which do you choose?

1 thought on “Oats is Safe for Celiac Disease Patients”

  1. The problem with oats is that they are milled with wheat and therefore are contaminated. Therefore unless the oats state they are gluten free they are not suitable

    Like

Comments are closed.